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THE LORD OF THE RINGS™

TRADING CARD GAME
CURRENT RULINGS

JUNE 8, 2005

SECTION ONE: INTRODUCTION
This document is an official supplement to the 
Comprehensive Rules 4.0. It contains all rulings 
that have made subsequent to the release of the 
Comprehensive Rules. All material from prior to 
the release of the Comprehensive Rules 4.0 can 
be found there.
This document is normally updated (if necessary) 
on the first Tuesday of every month. It is 
organized in the following sections:
 Section One – Introduction
 Section Two – Terms
 Section Three – Individual Card Rulings
 Section Four – X-Lists & Restricted Lists
Δ An entry preceded by a delta symbol identifies 
a change in gameplay since the previous version 
of the Current Rulings. To give tournament 
directors and players a chance to familiarize 
themselves with these gameplay changes, they 
do not take effect until one week after the 
publication date of this document.
§ An entry preceded by a section mark is either: 
(a) emphasizing existing rules or clarifying text 
where no other clear play ruling exists (without 
changing gameplay); or (b) a rewording, 
rearrangement, or reproduction of an existing 
rule or ruling made since the previous version 
of the Current Rulings. These entries are either 
already in force (due to previously published 
material), or are effective immediately.
© MMV New Line Productions, Inc. All Rights 
Reserved. “The Lord of the Rings” and names of 
the characters, items, events and places therein 
are trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company 
d/b/a Tolkien Enterprises under license to New 
Line Productions, Inc. Decipher Inc. Authorized 
User. TM, ®, & © 2005 Decipher Inc., P.O. 
Box 56, Norfolk, Virginia U.S.A. 23501. All 
rights reserved.
The information in this document is copyrighted 
by Decipher Inc. 2005; however, it can be 
freely disseminated online or by traditional 
publishing means as long as it is not altered and 
all copyright notices are attached.

SECTION TWO: TERMS
This section of the Current Rulings is 
a supplement to Section Two of the 
Comprehensive Rules 4.0, organized 
alphabetically by topic.
Cross-references from one topic to others that 
provide additional rules on the same topic are 
listed in bold type. These cross-references may 
lead to material in the Comprehensive Rules 
rather than material within this document.

§ ahead
A player is ahead on the adventure path when his 
or her site marker is at a higher site number than 
all other players’ site markers.

§ cancel
When an action (such as playing an event 
or using a special ability) is canceled or 
prevented, its effects are ignored but its costs 
and requirements are still paid. If that action is 
playing an event, that event card is discarded.

See cost, effect.

§ control
A controlled site, once placed in a player’s 
support area, is no longer a site on the adventure 
path.

dead pile
If you have more than one copy of a unique 
companion in your dead pile, you can’t play one 
of them from your dead pile.

effect
If an effect tells you to reveal or look at one or 
more cards from somewhere (a draw deck, a 
hand, etc.) and doesn’t specify what to do with 
them afterward, return them to where they came 
from, in the same order.
When a card has a conditional effect in 
parentheses, you can’t choose which one to use. 
You have to use the conditional effect if the 
condition is met.
Sharp Defense adds no strength to a Dwarf who has 
resistance 4 or more and no possessions. You can’t 
choose to use the +2 instead.
When you move a card from one area to another 
(except when drawing a card from your draw 
deck), you must reveal that card to all players to 
verify that it is of the correct type. Exception: If 
an effect says you are to move “a card” with no 
other description, you don’t have to reveal it.

§ exhausted
An exhausted character can’t “exert zero times.”
You can’t pay for the cost of They Sang As They 
Slew by exerting an exhausted character zero times.

for each
When something affects a character (or 
characters) using the phrase “for each,” you may 
affect a single character more than once. This 
includes such things as wounding, exerting, 
healing, or strength modifiers.

§ game text
Game text includes all the text in the box below 
the card type line except for helper text, lore, 
collector’s info, and marketing text (such as 
“DGMA Premier Series – France”). On a site 
card, this box is located below the image (there 
is no card type line on a site). On The One Ring 
cards, there is no box around the game text, but 
the concept is the same.
Any boldfaced keyword that appears in this box 
(such as Easterling, Fierce, or Defender +1) is 
game text.

Card titles, subtitles, and items on the card type 
line (card types, races, and classes) are not game 
text. Exception: On an event card, the word to 
the right of the card type (such as MANEUVER or 
SKIRMISH) is game text.
Sometimes game text is added to a card by an 
effect, even though that text is not printed on 
that card.

Gollum/Sméagol
Character cards that represent the unique aspects 
of Gollum or Sméagol have no race. This does 
not mean that these cards have “a race of no 
race.” When an effect tells you to count (or 
choose or spot) a race, Gollum/Sméagol can’t be 
counted (or chosen or spotted).
A Shadow player must spot a race for Argument 
Ready to Hand. Gollum doesn’t have a race to be 
spotted.
Sméagol is not a companion whose race you 
cannot spot.
When The Nine Walkers is in play, Sméagol does 
not have his cost reduced.
When an effect tells you to do something to 
minions of other races, that does not work on 
Gollum/Sméagol.
Argument Ready to Hand can’t discard Gollum, 
since he is not “of all other minion races” (he is not 
of any minion race).
When an effect tells you to do something to all 
minions who do not belong to a particular race, 
that does work on Gollum/Sméagol.
If an effect says, “Discard all minions not of the Orc 
race,” then Gollum is discarded.

§ helper text
Helper text is found in the box below the card 
type line in italics and parentheses that provides a 
summary of a game rule. Helper text is not game 
text.

See collector’s info, lore.

§ instead
When a card uses the phrase “instead” or 
“instead of”, the stated effect is replaced with 
a different effect. This does not mean that the 
original effect is prevented. If the second effect 
cannot happen for any reason, then the original 
effect occurs.
Smeagol, Bearer of Great Secrets is the ring-bearer 
and is bearing The Dead City (If Smeagol is about 
to be killed in a skirmish, discard him instead). If 
Smeagol is about to be killed and the player discards 
The Dead City, Smeagol cannot be discarded, he 
would simply be killed.

See response, effect.

§ limbo
When a non-site card is played, it enters limbo 
(not in your hand, not in your discard pile, and 
not in play) until all of its effects have resolved, 
and then it’s placed in the appropriate place. 
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Events go to the discard pile and other cards are 
placed in play.

See playing a card.

§ lore
Lore is text found in the box below the card type 
line in italics (but not parentheses) that provides 
an interesting quote or fact but has no effect on 
play. Lore is not game text.
See collector’s info, helper text.

§ modifiers
Each time a card enters play, it is considered a 
new card for all purposes even if that card was 
previously in play on the same turn.
If you play a second copy of Radagast in the same 
turn, the move limit is an additional +1.
Shelob, Her Ladyship is played and prevents 
Gandalf from skirmishing this turn. Shelob kills a 
companion and Gandalf dies to threats. The Free 
Peoples player plays Gandalf in the regroup phase 
with Sent Back and Gandalf is now allowed to 
skirmish.

Movement Summary
In order to make this summary more intuitive 
and helpful, we have changed the order of 
actions, which has no effect on gameplay:
•  A Shadow player places the next site card, if 

needed.
• Perform “When you move from...” actions.
•  Perform “When the fellowship moves...” 

actions.
• Move your player marker to the next site.
• Perform “When you move to...” actions.
•  Add twilight tokens equal to the new site’s 

Shadow number.
•  Add 3 twilight tokens if the new site is in 

region 2; or 6 if it is in region 3.
• Add 1 twilight token for each companion.

§ playing a card
Following is a detailed procedure for playing a 
non-site card. This was prompted by questions 
about playing events that require initiative, but 
the procedure applies to other cards as well. We 
refer to the card you are playing as “The Card.”
1. Reveal The Card from your hand, and it 
enters limbo (not in your hand, not in your 
discard pile, not in play). You can’t count The 
Card for initiative. You can’t discard The Card 
to pay a cost. Effects that respond to The Card 
leaving your hand, like losing initiative, happen 
later (see below).
2. Meet requirements to play The Card. If 
you are the Free Peoples player and initiative is 
a requirement for playing The Card, you must 
have four cards in your hand not counting The 
Card.
3. Pay costs to play The Card. This includes 
both twilight costs and other costs included in 
game text. If discarding cards from your hand is 
a cost, then you can’t discard The Card.
4. Respond to the playing of The Card. 
Responses or triggered actions that respond to 

anything that has happened so far happen now. 
Examples: Preventing or canceling The Card; 
losing initiative.
5. Perform effects of The Card. This includes 
choosing cards to be affected, if necessary. If 
initiative is a requirement for an effect, you can’t 
count The Card to pay costs. If an effect takes a 
card into your hand from your discard pile, The 
Card isn’t there yet.
6. Put The Card in its appropriate place when 
all of its effects are complete. Events go to the 
discard pile and other cards are placed in play.
See costs, effects, initiative, limbo.

§ prevent 
See cancel, cost, effect.

§ replace 
A character that is replaced in a skirmish by 
another character is removed from that skirmish. 
The skirmish continues with the new character. 
It does not start over. 
The Free Peoples player begins a skirmish involving 
a Desert Spearman and Farmer Maggot. At the 
start of the skirmish, the Shadow player removes ‹ 
to wound Farmer Maggot. The Free Peoples player 
uses Pippin, Brave Decoy’s text to have him replace 
Farmer Maggot in the skirmish. The Shadow player 
can not use the Desert Spearman’s game text to 
wound Pippin as the skirmish has already begun. 
See also site, unique.

return to hand
When an effect returns a card to a player’s hand, 
that card must come from in play. Exception: 
Events can be returned to hand, even though 
they are never in play.
The Elf you return to your hand with Taking the 
High Ground must come from in play, and can’t 
come from your discard pile or anywhere else.

site
An effect that allows the playing of the “next 
site” can’t be used to play “site 10.” The 
adventure path is limited to only nine sites.
To replace a site, choose a new site from your 
adventure deck and place it on top of the site you 
are replacing on the adventure path. Take the old 
site from beneath the new site and place it in its 
owner’s adventure deck. You can’t replace a site 
card with the same site card.

Δ skirmish phase
A losing character is any character on the losing 
side when a skirmish revolves. If a character 
is removed from his or her skirmish and there 
are still one or more characters on each side of 
that skirmish, the removed character is neither 
a losing nor a winning character. A character 
removed from a skirmish is not wounded (or 
overwhelmed) when that skirmish resolves.

transfer
If an effect can transfer a card to another “eligible 
bearer,” you must obey that card’s requirements 
on both what may bear it and when it may be 

transferred. When a card is transferred in this 
way, you do not pay its twilight cost.
Strange-Looking Men reads: “Maneuver: Exert this 
minion to transfer a possession or condition borne 
by a character to another eligible bearer.”
You can use Strange-Looking Men to transfer 
Flaming Brand (“Bearer must be a Man”) to any 
Man, Free Peoples or Shadow, as this obeys Flaming 
Brand’s normal requirements on who may bear it.
You cannot use Strange-Looking Men to transfer 
Black Breath (“Skirmish: Transfer this condition 
from your support area to a character skirmishing a 
Nazgûl.”). Black Breath’s additional requirement 
that it be transferred to a character skirmishing a 
Nazgûl cannot be met during the maneuver phase.

SECTION THREE: 
INDIVIDUAL CARD RULINGS
This section of the Current Rulings is 
a supplement to Section Three of the 
Comprehensive Rules 4.0, organized by 
collector’s info.
Entries may be marked “Erratum” or 
“Clarification,” with the same meaning as such 
notations in the Comprehensive Rules.

§ SAM 
Any version of Sam that can become the ring-
bearer if Frodo dies can only become the ring-
bearer if Frodo was the ring bearer when he was 
killed.

GET BACK 4 U 152
The phrase “by any player” means that no player 
can assign the selected minion to a skirmish.

§ FORTRESS NEVER FALLEN 4 U 276
The effect of this condition’s special ability 
when the card has more than one token is 
simultaneous. Several conditions are discarded 
at the same time. Siege Engine responds to these 
discards by preventing all of them.
You have three tokens on Fortress Never Fallen 
when you use its special ability. You select three 
Shadow conditions to be discarded (including my 
Siege Engine), and discard Fortress Never Fallen. 
I use the response special ability on Siege Engine, 
which technically saves all three conditions, but 
then I discard Siege Engine to pay its own cost.

ERED NIMRAIS 4 U 343
When Sméagol is played to Ered Nimrais and 
The Nine Walkers is in play, his twilight cost is 
3. (This is a reversal of a previous ruling.)

§ SIEGE ENGINE 5 U 60
Siege Engine can’t prevent a Shadow player from 
discarding cards.
Siege Engine can’t prevent the effect of Blood Runs 
Chill. Even though Blood Runs Chill is a Free 
Peoples card, it makes a Shadow player discard.

§ CELEBORN, LORD OF THE GALADHRIM 10 R  7
The correct collector number for this card is 
10 R 7.
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GATHERING WIND 10 C 16
Exerting a Wizard and choosing a number are 
part of the cost of this card. 

§ FIELD OF THE FALLEN 10 U 43
To play, spot a ∞ Man. 
While there is a character in the dead pile, each 
companion of the same culture as that character 
is strength -1.

§ BIRTHDAY PRESENT 10 R 104
If the Free Peoples player has only 1 event (or up 
to 4 copies of the same event, but no other ∫ 
events) in his or her discard pile, that event is 
taken into hand.

§ A SHADOW RISES 11 R 216
When you make this card a minion, move it out 
of your support area. When this card is no longer 
a minion, move it back to your support area.
If a character bearing Phial of Galadriel, Starglass 
is skirmishing A Shadow Rises and discards the 
Phial of Galadriel, A Shadow Rises loses”Fierce” 
and can bear other cards. If A Shadow Rises bears 
cards when its manuever special ability is used, 
those cards are discarded.

PIPPIN, HOBBIT OF 
   SOME INTELLIGENCE 12 R 127
This card has the Gandalf signet.

BOROMIR, DEFENDER OF 
   MINAS TIRITH 12 U 43
This card has the Gandalf signet.

ÚLAIRË TOLDEA, BLACK SHADOW 12 U 180
When you play this minion using an event like 
Morgul Gates or Dark Approach, you can exert 
it to take that same event card into your hand.

SECTION FOUR: X-LISTS & 
RESTRICTED LISTS
This section of the Current Rulings lists cards 
which are X-listed or restricted in sanctioned 
format tournaments, organized by collector’s 
info.
Promotional cards (from set 0 with P rarity) that 
appear in other sets are X-listed and restricted as 
per their versions that appear in other sets.

STANDARD FORMAT X-LIST
These cards cannot be included in a deck for 
a Standard format tournament. All cards from 
the Fellowship block (sets 1, 2, and 3; and 
promotional cards 0 P 1 through 0 P 15) are also 
X-listed for Standard format tournaments.

LEGOLAS, DAUNTLESS HUNTER 4 R 73
FORTRESS NEVER FALLEN 4 U 276
GET ON AND GET AWAY 4 R 304
STEADFAST CHAMPION 7 U 49
AGGRESSION 8 C 1
MEMORIES OF DARKNESS 10 U 2
GALADRIEL, LADY REDEEMED 10 R 11
MORDOR FIEND 10 C 91
FINAL ACCOUNT 11 C 31
OPEN & BLOCK FORMAT 
RESTRICTED LIST
No more than one copy of each of these cards 
may be included in a deck for an Open or Block 
format tournament.

FORCES OF MORDOR 1 C 248
STEADFAST CHAMPION 7 U 49
MEMORIES OF DARKNESS 10 U 2
MORDOR FIEND 10 C 91
EXPANDED FORMAT X-LIST
These cards cannot be included in a deck for an 
Expanded format tournament.

GALADRIEL, LADY OF LIGHT 1 R 45
SARUMAN’S SNOWS 1 C 138
ÚLAIRË NERTËA, MESSENGER OF  
   DOL GULDUR 1 U 234
SAM, SON OF HAMFAST 1 C 311
STING 1 R 313
A TALENT FOR NOT BEING SEEN 1 U 316
GIMLI, DWARF OF THE MOUNTAIN RACE 2 P 121
GALADRIEL, LADY OF THE GOLDEN WOOD 3 R 17
ARAGORN, HEIR TO THE WHITE CITY 3 R 38
HORN OF BOROMIR 0 P 5 AND 3 R 42
THE PALANTÍR OF ORTHANC 3 R 67
SARUMAN, KEEPER OF ISENGARD 3 R 68
FRYING PAN 3 C 108
THE SHIRE COUNTRYSIDE 3 R 113
LEGOLAS, DAUNTLESS HUNTER 4 R 73
STEADFAST CHAMPION 7 U 49
AGGRESSION 8 C 1
MEMORIES OF DARKNESS 10 U 2
GALADRIEL, LADY REDEEMED 10 R 11
MORDOR FIEND 10 C 91
FINAL ACCOUNT 11 C 31
EXPANDED FORMAT RESTRICTED 
LIST
No more than one copy of each of these cards 
may be included in a deck for an Expanded 
format tournament.

ELROND, LORD OF RIVENDELL 1 R 40
OTTAR, MAN OF LAKETOWN 1 R 80
NO STRANGER TO THE SHADOWS 1 U 108
SAVAGERY TO MATCH THEIR NUMBERS 1 R 139
RELICS OF MORIA 1 R 195
FORCES OF MORDOR 1 C 248
FLAMING BRAND 2 R 32
BILL FERNY, SWARTHY SNEERING FELLOW 2 R 75
BILL THE PONY 0 P 2 AND 3 U 106
FORTRESS NEVER FALLEN 4 U 276
GET ON AND GET AWAY 4 R 304


