
Section 1 – Preface

UPDATED JULY 6, 2004.
This current rulings document is an official rules
supplement to the Comprehensive Rulebook v3.0.
All rulings made prior to May 2004 can be found in
that Comprehensive Rulebook

The following sections make up this CRD:
Section 1 – Preface (and legal information)
Section 2 – X-List
Section 3 – Cards with errata (by card number)
Section 4 – Cards with Clarifications

(by card number)
Section 5 – Other Clarifications (by game term)

∆ An entry preceded by a delta symbol identifies a
change in gameplay since the previous published
CRD. To give tournament directors and players a
chance to familiarize themselves with these gameplay
changes, they are not official until one week after the
date of this document. This document is normally
updated (when necessary) on the first Tuesday of
every month.

§ An entry preceded by a section mark is either:
(a) emphasizing existing rules, or clarifying text
where no other clear play ruling exists (no change to
gameplay); or (b) a rewording, rearrangement, or
reproduction of an existing rule or ruling since the
previous month’s published CRD. Such entries are
either already in force (due to previously published
material), or are effective immediately.
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elrond@decipher.com.
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Section 2 – X-List
The following cards may not be played in Standard
format tournaments for The Lord of the Rings™ TCG:

ELROND, LORD OF RIVENDELL 1 R 40
GALADRIEL, LADY OF LIGHT 1 R 45
OTTAR, MAN OF LAKETOWN 1 R 80
NO STRANGER TO THE SHADOWS 1 U 108
SAVAGERY TO MATCH THEIR NUMBERS 1 R 139
RELICS OF MORIA 1 R 195
ÚLAIRË NERTËA, MESSENGER OF DOL GULDUR 1 U 234
FORCES OF MORDOR 1 C 248
STING 1 R 313
FLAMING BRAND 2 R 32
ARAGORN, HEIR TO THE WHITE CITY 3 R 38
HORN OF BOROMIR 0 P 5 AND 3 R 42
THE PALANTÍR OF ORTHANC 3 R 67
SARUMAN, KEEPER OF ISENGARD 3 R 68
BILL THE PONY 0 P 2 AND 3 U 106
FRYING PAN 3 C 108
∆ STEADFAST CHAMPION 7 U 49
∆ GONDORIAN CAPTAIN 7 C 96
∆ AGGRESSION 8 C 1

Section 3 – Cards with Errata
No cards have received an erratum since the release
of Comprehensive Rulebook 3.0.

Section 4 – Cards with Clarifications

O ELBERETH! GITHONIEL! 2 R 108
As skirmishes involving the Ring-bearer cannot be
cancelled, the skirmish action of this condition can
only be used to take off The One Ring.

§ SMÉAGOL, BEARER OF GREAT SECRETS 9 R+ 30
You do not add a burden when you start this card as
your Ring-bearer. (Your Ring-bearer is placed on the
table, not played.)

§ GOLLUM, MAD THING 10 R 21
Gollum’s game text does not apply if a Shadow
player assigns him to a skirmish.

Section 5 – Other Clarifications

§ “is about to” actions
Some actions are performed when a described
situation “is about to” happen. Typically, only one
such action can be performed in a given situation,
because its effect will “prevent” that situation or
replace it with another effect “instead.”

Example: Isildur is wearing The One Ring, Answer
to All Riddles. (“While wearing The One Ring,... each
time he is about to take a wound in a skirmish, add a
burden instead.”) The Free Peoples player has Sapling
of the White Tree in play. (Response: If a [Gondor]
Man is about to take a wound, discard this artifact to
prevent that.) Isildur loses a skirmish and is about to
take a wound. Because the required action of The
One Ring causes a burden to be added “instead” of a
wound, the optional action of Sapling of the White
Tree cannot be used, as the situation it responds to
no longer exists.

∆ playing Shadow cards
A Shadow player cannot play a Shadow artifact on
another Shadow player’s minion

§ The Rule of 9
Each copy of a companion in play or in your dead
pile counts as a separate companion, whether it is
unique or non-unique.
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